Let us help you jump-start a successful career in real estate! To begin, you’ll need to get your South Carolina Real Estate Salesman License. While some states require you to earn a full Broker license, South Carolina Real Estate Commission allows you to work with just a Real Estate Salesman license.
Here are the requirements for getting and maintaining a South Carolina real estate license:
1. Complete a 60-hour Prelicensing Course, also known as First Year Sales with an accredited school, like Sea Coast Real Estate Academy. This course will provide you instruction in basic real estate principles and practices. You will learn about property ownership, real estate law, transfer of title, title insurance, financing, brokerage relationships, closings, valuation, property management, taxation, fair housing, mathematics, and sales contracts and practices. At the end of the course, you’ll qualify to take the real estate license examination.
2. Complete your background check. The South Carolina Real Estate Commission requires you to complete a background check prior to taking the real estate exam. Your instructor will guide you through the process.
3. Apply to take the South Carolina real estate exam. Once you have taken the 60-hour course and completed your background check, you are eligible to apply to take the state exam. The South Carolina Real Estate Commission has applications on their website.
4. Schedule a time to take the South Carolina real estate exam. After the real estate commission has determined that you meet all requirements, they will send you a notification that you are eligible to sit for the exam. You can then call the testing center and schedule a time slot. Once you pass the exam, you must take the Advanced Principles of Real Estate Course before you’re rewarded a South Carolina Real Estate License. You may also take the advanced course prior to taking the state exam, but the Prelicensing Course covers everything you need to know for the exam.
5. Take the 30-Hour Advanced Principles of Real Estate Course. While the 60-hour Prelicensing Course teaches the fundamentals of real estate, the advanced principles course teaches everything you need to know to actively practice in the industry. It covers agency and property disclosure, contracts, ethics, measuring and evaluation, and investing in real estate.
6. Hang your license with a Brokerage. If you need some guidance on this, don’t hesitate to ask your instructor.
7. Complete the biennial Continuing Education. The South Carolina Real Estate Commission requires licensees to complete 10 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years to maintain their real estate license. That includes a 4-hour mandatory core class and an additional (3) 2-hour classes or (1) 2-hour class and (1) 4-hour class. Brokers-in-Charge have an additional mandatory 4-hour update course.
8. Enjoy you rewarding career in real estate! In no other industry will you meet so many interesting individuals from all walks of life.
9. (Optional) Earn your full Broker license. Depending on your career goals, you may decide a full Broker license fits your needs. This requires 3 years of experience and additional 60 hours of class, plus an exam.
Have questions about getting your North Carolina Real Estate License? Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.